Skip links and keyboard navigation

Skip to content Use tab and cursor keys to move around the page (more information)

Site header


New members appointed to Townsville Hospital and Health Board

Published:  09 April 2024

There are three new faces on the Townsville Hospital and Health Board following the appointments of Professor Kunwarjit Sangla, Dr Erin Waters, and Graham Pattel.

Professor Kunwarjit Sangla is a medical specialist at Townsville University Hospital practising general medicine, endocrinology, and obstetric medicine.

Dr Erin Walters is the director of medical services at the Townsville Aboriginal and Islander Health Services and is a passionate medical educator with more than 20 years’ experience across public and private healthcare sectors.

Graham Pattel has extensive board and cross-sector experience and is a former youth worker at the Cleveland Youth Detention Centre.

Townsville Hospital and Health Board Chair Tony Mooney, who has been reappointed for another term, said he was delighted to welcome the new members and the wealth of experience and wisdom they would bring to the table.

“I’m delighted that the health service has been able to attract such experienced, knowledgeable, and well-respected leaders to the Board,” Mr Mooney said.

The new members will join current Board members Michelle Morton, Debra Burden, Nicole Hayes, and Georgina Whelan who were reappointed for another term.

Local hospitality and property businessman Luke Guazzo is a continuing appointment on the Board.

“This diverse group of incredibly skilled community members each brings their rich professional and industry experience to the Board,” Mr Mooney said.

“I’d also like to acknowledge the great work, commitment, and expertise of outgoing Board members Donald Whaleboat and Danni Hocking.

“I’m looking forward to working with our Board to continue to deliver exceptional healthcare to our communities.”

Back to all News